Dr. Isatou Touray honored with prestigious Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Award.

Posted on Posted in News

Dr. Isatou Touray honored with prestigious Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Award

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Washington DC– Dr. Isatou Touray was awarded the Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Award in recognition of her work on advancing women’s rights and participation in political leadership, advocating for women’s sexual and reproductive health and rights, including a successful campaign to end female genital mutilation (FGM) in the Gambia. In an unprecedented move in 2016, Dr. Touray made history, becoming the first woman to run for Office of The President of The Republic of The Gambia, launching an inspiring campaign, culminating in a joint coalition of political parties that brought to end the 22 year rule of former President Yahya Jammeh. As Minister of Trade, Industry, Regional Integration and Employment, she continues to strive for gender equality and the empowerment of women in all political spheres inspiring many women to take an active role in the upcoming parliamentary election.

Also honored at the Luncheon was MSNBC news anchor- Greta Van Susteren, who was listed as one of the World’s 100 Most Powerful Women in 2016 by Forbes magazine.

Prior recipients of the award include Tarja Kaarina Halonen, the first female President of Finland, and Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers, the highest ranking Republican woman in the United States Congress.

About The Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Award

The International Republican Institute established the award in 2008 named for Dr. Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, the first woman appointed to serve as permanent representative of the United States to the United Nations and a member of President Ronald Reagan’s Cabinet and National Security Council. Dr. Kirkpatrick was a strong advocate for women’s programming and the establishment of the Women’s Democracy Network.